Women's Art Association of Hamilton

Scholarship Focus

Art education programs for women within Hamilton and surrounding regions (defined as the City of Hamilton, City of Burlington, Haldimand Region, Brantford and Brant Region and Niagara Region).

Eligibility For Scholarship Funding

Because WAAH receives funding requests far in excess of what we are able to support, we must often decline even very worthy candidates. This does not reflect in any way on the organization or its students, but rather is a result of the volume of requests for support, and the limitations on our resources. There are a number of limitations which generally govern our contributions and restrict or prohibit our support.

Awards are to provide assistance and encouragement to promising young students challenged by the costs of education. In all cases, the funds are paid directly to the student's educational institution on his or her behalf.


WAAH will not accept Scholarships Applications in the following cases:

  • Institutions not registered as charitable institutions with the Canada Revenue Agency
  • Institutions located outside the City of Hamilton and surrounding regions (as defined above)
  • Form letter requests
  • Multi-year funding
  • Capital funding to an organization for any purpose
  • Endowment Funds
  • Organizations whose purposes or methods of operation pose a potential conflict of interest for the organization


Requirements for applicants:

  • Application must be made on behalf a female student who resides within Hamilton and surrounding regions (as defined above) who is seeking to continue in an arts education program at an eligible institution
  • Applicant must show promise based on academic achievement
  • Priority will be given to students in financial need
  • Award winners would be expected to attend the WAAH AGM to acknowledge the gift


December 31 — submission deadline

New applications will be considered each year. To ensure consideration, PDF submissions should be sent by email to treasurer@waah.ca by December 31; funding decisions will be released by April 30. Applications received after the December 31 deadline may be considered at WAAH's discretion.

Application Form

The applications form is provided here in two formats:

  • Microsoft Word — To be saved, completed and converted to PDF for submission
  • PDF — To be printed and completed by hand

Funding and History

First Scholarship

Funding The Scholarship

The WAAH holds annual events to raise money for the scholarship fund, and we always welcomes donations to the Scholarship Fund. Since the WAAH is a registered charity, tax receipts will be given for donations of $25 and over. The WAAH encourages its members and community members to support the scholarships and to become a member of the Art Gallery of Hamilton.

In the past, members raised the capital with bridge games. At one time the WAAH had 114 tables at the Connaught Hotel. Every table received a prize. It was a gala evening until the costs defeated the idea. Life member Margaret Henderson then organized the bridge marathon played in members' homes. At one time 40 couples attended and a small fee was charged which would go towards the scholarship fund.

The WAAH also had day trips, week long trips, lunches, teas, draws for gifts, and galas.


Historical Perspective: 1946 to 2010

In 1945, Juanita LeBarre Symington proposed that a scholarship fund be established. After members of the Women's Art Association of Hamilton had raised money for the new Art Gallery on Forsyth Street, Hamilton, and given a number of paintings to the Art Gallery, the Scholarship Program was established in 1947.

The capital was given by patrons: Wilhelmina 'Mina' Alexander; Lady McLaren Brown; Edythe Burroughs; Honorary President Mrs. Newton D. 'Clara Elizabeth' Galbreaith; Honorary Patron Mrs. Ray 'Helen' Lawson (wife of the Lieutenant Governor); Charlotte Tutty Le Barre; Mrs. James Roberts and charter members: Nina Alexander, Margaret Elizabeth Galbreaith, Ivy Mukiel Hannaford, Florence Wilson Jones, Agnes Grosvenor Mackie, Amy Elsie Putnam, and Juanita LeBarre Symington.

In 1947 the first tuition scholarship was given to the Ontario College of Art (now OCAD University). Since then, scholarships have been given to McMaster University, Redeemer University College, the Viola Depew Award to Sir John A. Macdonald Secondary School, and a scholarship to the Dundas Valley School of Art.